Seared Mushrooms and Grits

Sorry I haven't posted anything in a while, I've been crazy busy! But I've got something delightful for you today so hopefully the wait was worth it:) I went to my pantry and I was out of my staples-lentils and quinoa- but I wanted something thick and creamy for lunch. My eyes landed on the cylinder Quaker Grits container and I knew what we would eat today! Mushrooms and grits! I was craving the smoky, seared taste of shrimp and grits and thought baby Bella mushrooms would do the trick. Guess what? They did! I threw in a few other veggies and lunch was served!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Seared Mushrooms and Grits

Yields: 2 Servings. Prep time : 20 minutes. Calories: 230 per serving

 

Ingredients:

1 small white onion

1 green bell pepper

8-10 grape tomatoes

1 and 1/2 cups of sliced baby Bella mushrooms

1/2 cup dry 5 minute grits

2 cups of water

1 tablespoon of Earth Balance

1/2 cup shaved Parmesan, Romano, and Asiago cheese( keep this recipe vegan by using your favorite vegan cheese!)

Salt and pepper to taste

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon oregano

 

Boil water and add grits in stirring frequently. Cook on low heat until thickened. Add in Earth Balance, cheese, and salt and pepper. Set to the side. Chop bell pepper and onion into thick slices and sear in a sauté pan along with mushroom, stirring regularly but also allowing the veggies to blacken slightly for that nice smoky flavor. Sprinkle with garlic powder, oregano, salt, and pepper. Add the tomatoes in last and cook until soft.

I served these layered in a bowl to keep my creamy grits from losing their shape and spreading too thin on a plate- you'll want a good thick bite with each mushroom and veg! I ladled half of the grits into my bowl, topped with cracked black pepper, and spooned half of my veggies on top. I had some fresh greens on the side and kept this hearty lunch to under 300 calories!

 

 

Leave a Reply

