Quinoa and Black Bean Festival!

I know my last dinner post involved quinoa, but seriously, there's so much to love about it! The rich, earthy taste, the tender grains that are easy to digest, it's gluten free, and is an extremely versatile ingredient! I made this tasty “festival” of southwest flavors for all my boys to enjoy for dinner when I was going to a girls night. I thought there would be leftovers of tangy vegetarian sausage, green salad and quinoa- I was wrong. In fact, my eldest son ate more of this dish for a snack! I'd say its a winner at my house.

Quinoa and Black Bean Festival

Prep time: 25 minutes. Yields: 8 servings. Calories: 228 per serving

Ingredients:

1 and 1/2 cups of organic white quinoa

1 cup of black beans

1 cup of sweet corn

1 cup of skim mozzarella

1 cup of fresh salsa

3/4 cup of chopped cilantro

1 teaspoon of garlic powder or two cloves of pressed garlic

1/2 teaspoon of cumin

Salt and pepper to taste

 

Prepare the quinoa as directed on the package and add the black beans, cooking on low until warmed.

Stir in corn, garlic, cumin, and cheese until melted.

Remove from heat and add cilantro and salsa. Add salt and pepper to taste. Serve with fresh guacamole if desired!

 

 

We enjoyed the quinoa with a green salad and these tasty vegan sausages-fresh off the grill!

 

 

 

 

Yum! The bowl before my men licked it clean!

*Just wanted to post a little note here that quinoa is technically gluten free but may still cause some digestive problems for those suffering from celiacs disease or other severe gluten allergies.

 

Leave a Reply

