Vegan Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

Now that I've finally found some time to post, I've put up so many posts that I feel like a recipe bloggin' fool! But hey, you gotta do, what you gotta do! Free time to blog is a rare thing around these parts!
So, here at the Harbin house, we eat a lot of bananas. I mean, a ton! I buy 3 clusters of bananas roughly 2 times a week-basically, I can almost truly call my boys “little monkeys.”
However, even with all our banana consumption, sometimes I buy a bad batch or we just can't eat them all before they over ripen. So what to do? So many things of course!
But today, on a cozy, drizzly, Sunday night, I decided to make an old faithful- banana bread! However, I wanted to make it without adding any sugar, with a little extra protein, and chock full of good grains.
I cheated and used the Multigrain Baking Mix from Trader Joes(my home away from home) but it would be simple to make it from scratch as well. The mix is comprised mostly of wheat flour, rolled oats, corn flour and baking soda- I would make my bread with the wheat flour, oats and baking soda if I make it from scratch next time.
Oh and did I mention this recipe is vegan? Yep, completely diary free!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

Prep time: 10 min. Baking time: 25 min.
Yields: 10 servings Calories: 220 per serving

 

Ingredients:
2 cups baking mix
1 cup rolled oats
4 mashed ripe bananas
3 tbs. chia seeds
1 tbs. milled flax seed
3 tbs. water
1 cup almond milk
2 tbs. melted coconut oil
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a loaf pan and set aside.
Mix flax seed and water and set aside.
Combine the ingredients, and stir until blended, adding flax seed mix and chocolate chips last.
Pour into greased pan and bake for 25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Remove bread from pan and let cool for 5-10 minutes. Slice and enjoy!
The boys gobbled theirs up with a little Earth Balance spread on top for a dairy free treat!
This bread is so yummy
that I didn't even get a picture
of the full loaf before it got sliced!

 

Leave a Reply

