Sour Cream French Toast

French toast is a favorite at our house, so I make it often. I like to mix it up and since I made this recipe on a Sunday evening, I was more awake than the usual breakfast time-which left me a little more creative! This toast ended up being the perfect breakfast/dinner and delighted all my boys, as well as me! I rarely have sour cream in my fridge but a carton was left at my house and I try to let nothing go to waste! I whisked it into my French toast recipe and it was anything but sour!
I didn’t even have the best bread and it was yummy!

Sour Cream French Toast

Prep time: 30 mins. Servings: 8

1 1/2 cups of milk( I used almond)
1/2 cup of cream (I used soy creamer)
1 egg
2 tbs. of sour cream
1/2 cup of organic sugar
2 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon
1 tsp. vanilla
16 slices of bread

Combine the first seven ingredients in a mixing bowl and whisk until blended.
Here’s my carton of sour cream, no longer going to waste!

Spray a griddle or pan with coconut oil and turn heat to medium high. Dip both sides of the bread in the liquid mixture and place on the warmed surface of the pan or griddle. Cook the first side until lightly browned and toasted, then flip and cook the other side. Continue until all the pieces of the bread are toasted.
This is what my plate looked like shortly after I took the first picture! I nearly licked it clean! Try this out for your next brunch or breakfast for dinner and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

