Vegetarian Sloppy Joes with Balsamic Cole Slaw

Sloppy Joes were one of my favorite childhood meals, and let me tell you, my mama could make a mean Sloppy Joe! I remember her browning the ground beef with onions and squirting piles of oozy ketchup and mustard atop the mound of meat. She would season with spices and serve it hot on sliced wheat bread. English peas or green beans usually accompanied our sandwiches and dinner was served! I still get the craving for a good Sloppy Joe every once in a while but I haven’t eaten or cooked red meat in ages! And I have no intention to start but I still wanted a drippy, saucy, Sloppy Joe! I started out knowing I wanted to include quinoa and beans and worked my way out from there, adding veggies and goodness as I went. I am pleased with what transpired and I hope you can enjoy this tasty and healthy version of my childhood favorite! And you have to try the crunchy, not overly mayonnaisey(is that a word? I don’t think so but I’m going to use it) balsamic slaw! Seriously one of my favorite recipes ever-I’ve eaten this slaw on everything and it’s made my life and lunches so happy!

Vegetarian Sloppy Joes

Prep time: 45 mins. Servings: 8

Ingredients:
1 package of 8 wheat buns (you choose your favorite!)
1 cup of quinoa
2 cups black beans
2 cups pinto beans
2 small/medium sweet potatoes
1/2 green bell pepper
1 red onion
4 tbs yellow mustard
1 tsp. spicy brown mustard
1 cup of ketchup
1 tsp. garlic powder
1 tsp. seasoning salt
Salt and pepper to taste

Pour two cups of water and quinoa into a medium sauce pan and cook on high until water is absorbed.
Peel and dice sweet potatoes and onions and cook in 1-2 cups of water in a sauté pan. Add green pepper and cook until soft.
Add beans and cooked quinoa. Stir well and warm thoroughly.
Add ketchup, mustards, and seasonings. Make sure to stir well and taste before adding salt and pepper. There are so many great flavors in this dish that it doesn’t need much extra-just a little salt and pepper!

Serve on warm buns topped with my delightful Balsamic Cole Slaw-scroll down for the recipe!

Balsamic Cole Slaw

Prep time : 5-10 mins. Servings: 12

Ingredients:
10 cups of raw cole slaw cabbage mix( you could also finely chop a head of cabbage)
1 heaping tablespoon of mayonnaise
2/3 cup balsamic vinaigrette
1/2 teaspoon seasoning salt
Salt and pepper to taste
1/4 tsp. garlic powder

Place all ingredients in a large bowl and mix well. Serve chilled.

One thought on “Vegetarian Sloppy Joes with Balsamic Cole Slaw

Leave a Reply

