Vegan Green Bean Casserole

So here is the final recipe of our Christmas dinner that I promised to share! And I believe it is the crowning glory of our vegan Christmas! My husband said it was hands down the best green bean casserole he’d ever had-and I guarantee you that no one would know that this creamy, mushroomy, crunchy, dish of goodness is free of any animal products! In order to make this vegan, I had to leave out canned cream of mushroom soup and make my own. It turned out to be the best decision I could have made! So do yourself a favor and make your green bean casserole from real mushrooms-vegan or not! You’ll be happy you did!

Vegan Green Bean Casserole

Prep time: 60 mins. Servings: 15

Ingredients:
10 oz. whole mushrooms( I used baby bella)
4 cans of organic green beans
1 small sweet onion
1/2 tbs Earth Balance
1/2 tbs olive oil
1 1/2 cups almond milk
1 tbs cornstarch
1 8 oz. container of vegan cream cheese
1 tbs Worcestershire sauce(make sure to check the ingredients for a vegan sauce-many are made with anchovies! I actually used Kroger brand which is completely vegan)
1 6 oz. can of French fried onions
1 tsp. garlic powder
1 tsp. seasoning salt
Salt and pepper to taste
1/2 cup of Daiya shredded cheddar vegan cheese(optional)

Slice mushrooms and onions into bite sized pieces. In a large pan, sauté mushrooms and onions in olive oil until soft and browned. Turn heat to low and add Earth Balance and 1/2 cup of almond milk. Stir in vegan cream cheese until melted.
In a small bowl, whisk the remaining cup of almond milk and corn starch until clumps disappear. Pour into the pan and stir until fully mixed. Turn the heat to medium high and continue to stir until the sauce thickens.
Stir in Worcestershire sauce, garlic powder and seasoning salt. Add salt and pepper to taste. Don’t get too crazy with the salt because the French fried onions are pretty salty! I used a huge pan so I was able to add my green beans directly to my pan, but if you didn’t, then transfer sauce to a large bowl and gently fold in the cans of green beans until the beans are well coated in the sauce. Pour into a greased casserole dish and smooth out evenly. I sprinkled the top of the casserole with the Daiya cheddar cheese. It didn’t make a full layer of cheese over the casserole but added a flavorful, buttery bite here and there. I highly recommend you use Daiya or another high quality vegan cheese-or just leave it out for this casserole. You don’t want anything that will take over the taste of the creamy mushroom sauce!
Evenly spread the entire can of French fried onions over the top of the casserole. Bake at 350 until the sauce is bubbling and the onions are browned.
Serve warm and enjoy! Trust me, you will be delighted!

Leave a Reply

