Mexican Stuffed Portobello

I was wheeling my cart through the grocery store, dragging children, coats and hats flying out behind us, when I saw some portobello mushroom caps and I knew what I wanted for lunch! I stuffed and cooked these in a few minutes for a fresh and inviting meal that made me forget the strain of getting groceries, while toting two little boys! Oh and this recipe is vegan and gluten free.

Mexican Stuffed Portobello

Prep time: 25 mins. Servings: 4

Ingredients:
4 portobello mushrooms caps
1/2 cup raw kale-finely chopped
1 cup fresh pico de gallo
2/3 cup Daiya shredded vegan cheese
1/2 cup chopped cilantro
1/2 cup fajita or taco seasoning
2 1/2 tbs. vegan cream cheese
1/2 cup black beans


These are what my mushrooms looked like before I removed the dark brown gills. Do this carefully so that you don’t break the mushrooms while scraping them.

Heat oven to 350. Remove the gills from the mushroom caps with a spoon and bake on a baking sheet for 3 minutes.
In a bowl, combine all the ingredients, reserving a couple pinches of cilantro and 1/3 cup of cheese to top the mushrooms.
Spoon the filling into the mushroom caps and bake for another 7 mins. Remove from the oven and sprinkle each mushroom with a little vegan cheese(if you’re not vegan, you can easily substitute regular cheese of course!).
Place the mushrooms back in the oven for an additional 3 minutes. You will want to keep a close eye on them and not cook them too long because the mushrooms will start to fall apart and all that wonderful stuffing will fall right out!
Pull them out of the oven and top with cilantro. I served mine with roasted broccoli and a bed of greens topped with pico de gallo! Try it and let me know how you served it! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

