Roasted Parsnips

Parsnips are a root vegetable related to and resembling the carrot, and until a week ago, I had never tasted one. I have been missing out friends!! I decided on a whim that they looked like carrots and I could likely roast them-just like I love to roast carrots! They peeled easily and sliced nicely. In a matter of minutes I had peeled, chopped and seasoned parsnips ready to go into the oven! I have to be honest that an odd smell came from the oven as they roasted and I was a little skeptical at how tasty they would be. I held on to hope and kept roasting until they softened and the edges browned nicely. They were worth the wait and the faith I had in their deliciousness! Oh my lawd were they good! Roasted parsnips taste like a delightful cross between French fries and sweet potatoes, with a smidge of carroty goodness. So, so, yummy. Please go buy some of these inexpensive root veggies and roast them
up today!
Roasted Parsnips

Prep time: 40 minutes. Servings: 4-6

Ingredients:
1 bag of parsnips- usually 3-4 parsnips
2 tbs. Earth Balance or butter
Seasoning salt to taste
Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 375 and peel parsnips. Slice off the top and the end tips. Slice parsnips in half and chop into thin “fry” like wedges.
Line a cooking sheet with foil and lightly grease. Place chopped parsnips on the pan. Melt Earth Balance and drizzle over parsnips. Toss by hand until they are all lightly coated. Spread out on the pan and sprinkle with seasoning salt, salt and pepper.
Roast at 375 for 30 minutes or until the parsnips soften and the edges brown.
Let sit five minutes after removing from the oven and serve warm. Try these and enjoy some roots tonight!

Leave a Reply

